TDC Course


The College offers Three Year Undergraduate Degree Course, spread out into six semesters, leading to Bachelor’s degree in Arts and Science. The College is affiliated to Gauhati University and follows the course curriculum and rules/guidelines of the affiliating university. Accordingly, the college has implemented the Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) in the Under Graduate (UG) level from the academic session 2019-2020.

Two consecutive (one odd and one even) semesters will make up an academic year. An UG course shall be of Six Semesters covering three Calendar Years (Academic Sessions – June to May). The duration of the Odd Semesters (First, Third and Fifth) shall be ‘June to November’, and that of Even Semesters (Second, Fourth and Sixth) shall be ‘December to May’. Each student must take admission in three consecutive Academic Sessions starting with the first semester. Students who do not enrol in the Second Academic Session will not be eligible to take admission in the Third Academic Session. The minimum time requirement to acquire an undergraduate degree will be three years. The maximum time allowed to complete the programme will be six years.

Types of Courses under CBCS

The college offers courses of the following three types:

  • B. A. (Honours)
  • B. A. (Regular)
  • B. Sc. (Regular)

  • In line with the CBCS guidelines of Gauhati University, the courses are categorized as (i) Core course (CC), (ii) Elective course (EC) and (iii) Ability Enhancement course (AEC) for both the types of courses.

    A. Core Course: A core course is a necessary course that a student must take in order to complete the degree. The number of core courses for Honours and Regular degrees are different. For Honours course a student will have to take up 14 core courses, each of 6 credits and for Regular course a student will need to take up 12 core courses, each again of 6 credits.

    B. Elective Course: Generally, a course which can be chosen from a pool of courses and which may be very specific or specialized or advanced or supportive to the discipline/subject of study or which provides an extended scope or which enables an exposure to some other discipline/subject/domain or nurtures the candidate’s proficiency/skill is called an Elective Course. There are two kinds of elective courses- Generic and Discipline Specific. The Generic Elective courses can be chosen by a student belonging to any stream and the Discipline Specific elective courses are particular to only the discipline concerned.

    (i) Generic Elective (GE) Course: A Generic Elective course is offered by an unrelated discipline and has the objective of broadening the academic experience of a student. A student enrolled in an undergraduate degree program with Honours can acquire 24 course credits from Generic Elective Course. A core course offered in a discipline may be allowed as an Elective to a student from another discipline. This course will be treated under the category of Generic Elective Courses.

    (ii) Discipline Specific Elective (DSE) Course: Elective courses offered in the main discipline/subject of study are referred to as Discipline Specific Electives. Such courses may also be of interdisciplinary in nature. A student enrolled in an undergraduate degree program with Honours will have to earn 24 course credits from Discipline Specific Elective courses. For a student enrolled in a non-Honours undergraduate degree programme in science, the course credit requirement from Discipline Specific Elective courses will be 36 credits. For a student enrolled in a non-Honours undergraduate degree program in Arts the course credit requirement from Discipline Specific Elective course will be 24 credits.

    C. Ability Enhancement Courses (AEC): The Ability Enhancement (AE) Courses which are to be taken up by students in an undergraduate degree program will be of two types:

  • Ability Enhancement Compulsory Courses (AECC): These 4-credit course are mandatory for every student for enrolled in an undergraduate degree program. A student will have to take up 4 credit course English Communication and MIL Communication and a second 4 credit course in Environmental Studies.
  • Skill Enhancement Courses (SEC): Skill Enhancement Course will be value based or skill based and there will be a pool of courses on offer. A student enrolled in an undergraduate degree program with Honours will have to take up a minimum of two SEC courses of 4 credits each as part of the program requirement. For students enrolled in Non-Honours undergraduate degree programs, the credit requirement from Skill Enhancement Courses will be 16 credits.


    Mankachar College has the following subjects in the B.A. (Regular) Course –

  • English
  • MIL (Assamese)/Alt. English
  • Economics
  • Political Science
  • History
  • Education

    The College offers B. A. Honours in the following subjects -

  • English
  • Assamese
  • Political Science
  • Economics
  • History

  • Selection of the honours Subject: A student for Honours subject be selected on the basis of merit. The concerned department may hold entrance test for selection of the honours students. A deserving students will be given honours subject according to his/her performance and shall be allowed to change the subject within one month from the date to admission with due permission from the concerned department.


    The College offers three years B.Sc. Regular course and the following subjects are available –

  • English
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Botany
  • Zoology
  • Mathematics