National Service Scheme (NSS) Advisory Committee

National Service Scheme (NSS) Advisory Committee

The National Service Scheme was started to establish a meaningful linkage between the campus and the community. Mahatma Gandhi, the Father of the Nation, had recognized that the country could not progress in a desired direction until the student youth were motivated to work for the upliftment of the villages/community. National Service Scheme (NSS) Cell, Mankachar College Unit is introduced under G.U. from the session 2012-13 with hundreds students. This unit renders social service with inside and outside the college campus through the NSS volunteer. The main aim of the scheme is to enable the student to upgrade their personality and experience through community service. A student enrolled in NSS is expected to put in at least 120 hours of regular NSS programme in each academic year and are entitled to get a certificate on completion of 2 years term i.e. 240 hours and attending at least one special camp. The NSS Unit of Mankachar College provides a platform to the students for community work and developing a sense of involvement in the tasks of nation building. NSS volunteers work to ensure that a needy get help to enhance their standard of living. A variety of activities are organized every year to channelize the energy and idealism of the younger generation into creative pursuits. They educate students and society regarding many issues like health, sanitation, palliation, etc. Various health camps and cleanliness drives across campus and adopted village areas nearby are taken out regularly to create awareness and also to motivate people to work towards a clean environment. It is very important in present time to provide them an opportunity to work with the people in the backward villages and slums. In our college the authority considered NSS as a priority programme and conductive for the development of the personality of students as a whole and started NSS unit. We organized various programmes successfully in the adopted village (Mahanta Para).


The broad objectives of NSS are to:
         Understand the community in which they work
         Understand themselves in relation to their community
         Identify the needs and problems of the community and involve them in problem solving process;
         Develop among themselves a sense of social and civic responsibility;
         Utilize their knowledge in finding practical solution to individual and community problems;
         Develop competence required for group living and sharing of responsibilities;
         Gain skills in mobilizing community participation;
         Acquire leadership qualities and democratic attitude;
         Develop capacity to meet emergencies and natural disasters and
         Practice national integration and social harmony.

The Motto

The motto of the National Service Scheme is ‘NOT ME BUT YOU’. This reflects the essence of democratic living and upholds the need for selfless service and appreciation of the other person’s point of view and also to show consideration for fellow human beings. It underlines that the welfare of an individual is ultimately dependent on the welfare of society on the whole. Therefore, it should be the aim of the NSS to demonstrate this motto in its day-to-day programme.

NSS Symbol

The symbol of the National Service Scheme, is based on the ‘Rath’ wheel of the Konark Sun Temple situated in Orissa. These giant wheels of the Sun Temple portray the cycle of creation, preservation and release, and signify the movement in life across time and space. The design of the symbol, a simplified form of the Sun-chariot wheel primarily depicts movement. The wheel signifies the progressive cycle of life. It stands for continuity as well as change and implies the continuous striving of NSS for social transformation and upliftment.

Composition of the Cell

The NSS Advisory Committee is constituted as follows-

1. Chairman- Principal of the College (ex-officio)
2. One NSS Programme Officer cum Member secretary- selected from amongst the teachers in a general meeting of the teachers.
3. Four members- selected from the teaching staff of the college selected in a general meeting of the teachers.

# Name Position
1. Principal Chairman
2. Md. Morsheduzzaman (NSS Programmer Officer) Member Secretary
3. Circle Officer Mankachar Circle, Member
4. Forest Officer Salmara Mankachar Dist., Member
5. GP Member (Adopted Village) Member
6. Muktazur Rahman Kazi Teacher, Member
7. Dr. Firdusa Begum Teacher, Member